top of page

Getaways & Sunny Days

Living in Madrid is great, you constantly have new things to try or do on the weekends, even if its chilling in a cafe/terrace watching the day go by. But, this weekend I got the travel bug so I got on a train with no destination in mind.

Once on the train I found the route ended in Alcalá de Henares. What's in this 30km town from Madrid center? I had 0 idea...but about 45min later I was stepping off the train to wonder through this city with 0 plan in mind.

I'm not going to lie, for a girl who feels like things must always be planned or anticipated, it felt nice to try exploring with no agenda. As I begin walking I bumped into the Laredo Palace. A small building with intricate details of gothic style and more specifically I loved the use of brick in a different style than the accustomed use. It has a museum inside. But if I can give you a tip most touristic places in this town only open on the weekends and at two different schedules, that is something I would plan accordingly.

One of the main things Alcalá de Henares is known for is its university, the University of Alcalá. Its campus is spread throughout the town, so as you walk you see beautiful historic buildings with different entities of the university. Just in front of the main building is a small plaza that you can reach via quaint little streets, in this plaza there is a small hotel with the most tranquil and cozy aura.

This stone paved street that leads to the University's main plaza is also the home to the San Idelfonso Chapel.

A few steps from the university you reach the Plaza Cervantes, its basically like the main square in the town. It reminded me a lot of our pueblos in Mexico because it had the gazebo in the center, a church in the surrounding area and little local shops and restaurants all around.

Around the Plaza Cervantes was the Church, tower and chapel of Santa Maria.

Afterwards I continued wondering around, and don't ask me how but I found the cathedral and a main street called Calle Mayor.

Along Calle Mayor is the house of the famous author of Don Quixote, Miguel de Cervantes. I previously didn't know he was born and raised in this home, which now holds a museum in his honor.

Lastly, and this was probably my favorite part, I stumbled upon the Palace of Alcalá. This place is full of history dating back to 1209, this was the home of many Castilian Monarchs, including the Queen of England, Catherine of Aragon. Similarly Christopher Columbus held his first meeting with the monarchs in this very palace. Today it serves as the home of the Dioceses of Alcalá.

In the same plaza as the palace where this other historical buildings that maintain the same lines of architectural style.

Ultimately, I found this daytrip to be very pleasant and worth the trip. The sun was out, the 10 degree celsius temperature was bearable and I got a taste of a different place just a train away from Madrid.

-Marina

 

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page